Skip to content

January Wrap Up

January 30, 2012

As you have noticed we haven’t been that great about updating the blog (resolution FAIL).However, I have been busy doing a bunch of other things on my list of resolutions.

#1: I have used my crock pot 4 times! I made Thai Turkey & Veggies, Apple Cider Chicken, French Onion Soup and Spanish Chicken with Chorizo. They were all very good (B+ to A- grades) and using the crock pot definitely made having dinner ready easy.

#2: I read a book – Mindy Kaling’s “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)” It was a quick and enjoyable read.

#3: I made myself one article of clothing! I have this black skirt from Old Navy I have had for forever. It is great for work (comfortable, the right length, versatile) and I really wanted one in brown. I couldn’t find anything fitting those requirements, so I bought some brown jersey fabric when we were at Mood this fall to make one. I basically used the other skirt as a “pattern”.

For those of you who are interested…here is my rough “how to”: I measured the length and width, added in some extra for seam allowances and cut two panels out from the brown fabric. I sewed the skit together at the sides, using a zig zag stitch. The stretchy fabric was a bit tricky and you can see a few puckers, but it came out pretty good. Then I measure out some 1 inch elastic so it would be somewhat tight and would fit nicely. I sewed the ends together and then tried it on to make sure it would work. The trickiest part was attaching that to the skirt. I started by pinning it to at the two seams. I just folded the fabric over the inside of the elastic so it wouldn’t rub against my skin. After I had those 2 pins in place, I approximated half way in between on the elastic and the fabric then pinned there. I did this half way technique all the way around until I had pins about 2 inches apart. I used a wide zig zag stitch to sew the elastic into the skirt, pulling everything taut as I went along. This was pretty tricky, but gave the exact kind of subtle gathering I needed. After that was done, I hemmed the bottom.

Here is the final product hanging up. It looks pretty simple, but that was the goal!

I am proud of the good work I have done with my resolutions overall, now I just need to keep it up! Next month I want to make myself an apron. I have a few different ideas in the works and will keep you posted. February is a short month so I’ll have to be a bit more productive! I did far too much of my crafting this month in the past week…

~Love and Stitches,

Krypton

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

