Skip to content

Embroidery on Christmas Cards

December 9, 2011

After having such a crafty year, I decided it would be fun to embroider some simple Christmas designs onto plain cards to send out for the holidays to my friends and family. I browsed online for some design inspiration and came up with a simple ornament that would require about 3 colors and wouldn’t take me too long to embroider. As usual, I completed them while watching TV, my trademark crafting time. I am still working on finishing about 5 more cards, but they have come out really nice. I first sketched the design in pencil (an advantage over having to put the design on fabric), punched holes with a needle for the entire design and then got to embroidering. I just wrote in Merry Christmas with a silver marker. It would look nice embroidered, but I got lazy. Here are some of the final products:

I also did a more elaborate NOEL design that I sent to my parents. I was really happy with how it came out…but it took FOREVER.

After all this embroidery and hand sewing of ties I woke up with a swollen hand and couldn’t move my fingers! A trip to the athletic trainers at school (they are our nurses) and I was wrapped up like this:

Yes, I got tendonitis from sewing. A crafting injury. Try not to laugh! However, I am happy to report after a day of icing and wrapping, my hand is back to normal! 🙂

I also sent a few cards to my college friends through the Cards app that was new to the iPhone with iOS 5. You customize a card with a picture and some text and they mail it for about $3.00 including postage. You just look up the person’s address in your contacts and it writes it right on the outside of the card. Not bad for a custom photo card, done right from your iPhone! I’ll let you know how they come out and what kind of feedback I get from my friends. Anyone have any creative holiday card ideas? I’m always looking for something fun!

~Love and Stitches,

Krypton

Leave a Reply

