Skip to content

A Productive Saturday and My Obsession with Google Reader

November 20, 2011

Yesterday was a very productive Saturday for me. I cleaned my entire apartment in the morning (finally!). In addition to just organizing my bedroom and doing general cleaning like vacuuming, I cleaned out my pantry! That is something I have been wanting to do for a few weeks but have been too busy. Check out the organized final product!

Then after showering and making some lunch, I worked a bit on some projects. First I did a few sewing repairs on a black coat of mine.

Some of the buttons were about to fall off and I needed to fix one of the button holes. That didn’t take very long, but got me in the crafting mood. I then worked a bit on my mom’s gift (Krypton’s mom, thats your cue to stop reading!).

I put together the three main pieces of the bag and it is almost an actual bag! I still need to make the lining, attach that and then sew the straps together. I really like the pattern, but the bag is definitely larger than I was thinking it would be. Oh well! She will just be able to carry A LOT of things!

I had to drive my brother and his friend out to a concert, so I ran a few errands afterwards. I decided that I wanted to pick up a few crafting supplies for two gifts I had in mind for both of my parents. On route to the Michael’s I stopped at BJs for a few things and then at the grocery store. I got the urge to make cupcakes. So I went online, browsed recipes I had starred on my Google Reader and settled on a Fluffernutter Cupcakes from How Sweet It Is (www.howsweeteats.comhttp://www.howsweeteats.com/2011/09/fluffernutter-cupcakes/). I have been reading this blog for a while and feel like I star nearly all the recipes. They all look AMAZING. I made Buffalo Chicken Enchiladas from this site for a football game awhile back and they were a huge hit. So delicious. So anyway, I stopped at the store and picked up supplies:

Then I hit up Michael’s and got my crafting supplies:

After all this shopping I was hungry! I made myself a really nice salad for dinner. Shall we just continue with the my day in pictures theme? Here is the Cobb Salad I made, complete with bacon, ham, turkey, blue cheese, lettuce, tomato and olives. It was delicious!

After eating, I watched a few movies from Netflix while crafting. First on disc was Peep World, which was only okay, and then I watched Limitless on streaming, which I enjoyed… because who doesn’t like People’s Sexiest Man Alive Bradley Cooper?? While watching these I was working the two projects for my parents for Christmast (So now BOTH Krypton’s mom and dad better not be reading!)

I turned all that felt and embroidery floss into fun coasters that look like tree stumps! This is another project courtesy for my Google Reader! The inspiration is from a blog called A Beautiful Mess. Check out the tutorial here: http://abeautifulmess.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/10/tree-stump-coaster-diy-.html Here are my final products:

I also worked on making garland from wine corks for my parents as well. I always save all my corks (remember my lamps??) and am constantly looking for fun things to make with them. I follow a blog called Uncomsumption on my Google Reader as well, which is all about reusing and repurposing things. I saw this link for using wine corks to make a garland: http://unconsumption.tumblr.com/post/2352310577/its-wine-oclock-somewhere-which-means-it I bought a box of screw eyes earlier this week at Home Depot and then used the ribbon/gift wrap stuff I got at Michael’s to attach them. I think my parents will love it! I can envision it hanging on the fireplace at the holidays.

To end my night, I finally made those cupcakes!!

They came out VERY yummy! I had one last night and will be bringing them to my parents house today for us all to enjoy during football. (I really hope the Redskins play well…but I doubt that it will happen. So the cupcakes should help make things better.)

So that was quite the crazy, productive Saturday for me! Google Reader and all the blogs I follow really inspired me. What’d you do this weekend??

~Love and Stitiches,

Krypton

2 Comments leave one →
  1. canny permalink
    November 21, 2011 7:55 am

    I am TOTALLY impressed! I especially LOVE the coasters – they are truly original and very useful in the KA lifestyle. I’m off to Jo-Ann’s right now to pick up fabric for a project I saw at the Deerfield Christmas Sampler (at the Big E) yesterday.
    I love this blog! Keep those needles movin’…and Happy Thanksgiving!
    C

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas Crafting Summary « sewrational

Leave a Reply

