Skip to content

Easy Cases for an iPad or Kindle!

November 12, 2011

This year for my birthday I really wanted an iPad 2.  I asked for money as a gift from my friends and family then pooled it all together (added in some of my own) and bought one. Immediately I loved it! I got one of the Apple foldable cases in orange (my favorite color…think back to my van Gogh bedroom!). It protected the screen excellently, but left the back exposed. There are a million cases on the market, but I wanted something cute, fashionable and affordable that provided protection but wasn’t crazy intense. I decided that making a sleeve style case myself would be great project….and it was the first thing that I made with my sewing machine at my apartment! I Googled searched iPad covers and patterns/tutorials for them. There were lots of great options! After checking out a few tutorials, I found one that I liked the look of and wasn’t too challenging. Here is a picture of my first real sewing project:

The tutorial was from the blog Dixie Mango (www.dixiemango.com) and here is the link to the exact tutorial I used for you to check out: http://dixiemango.wordpress.com/2010/05/25/ipad-cover-tutorial-or-any-laptop/

I did make a few little changes, like putting quilting batting in between the lining and fabric to give it a bit of padding for protection. This case isn’t padded enough for throwing the iPad around but it is great for daily use. If you look closely, you can see some definite beginner mistakes. I learned a lot as I was working on making it. On future cases, I made sure to really sew down the Velcro by going around it twice because it basically came off my first case. But being that is was the first project I really did, I love it just the same!

Since my first one, I have made multiple other cases, some for the iPad 1 or iPad 2 and some for the Kindle. All you really have to do is know the dimensions of the device (thanks Wikipedia or making that super easy). Miss Pascal actually made a Kindle version while helping me make my iPad one. The nice thing about this case is that I was able to use a fat quarter of fabric (for either the iPad or Kindle version), which are only $2.00 at JoAnns! So the total project is pretty cheap. About $4.00 in fabric, some quilting batting (that I got for free from Miss Pascal) and a package of Velcro (a few bucks, but you don’t need much for each case). Here are a few of the other cases I have made with fun different fabric. I really like the chance to use coordinating fabrics.

A black and white patterned case for an iPad 1.

A brown and colored stipes version for a Kindle. Amazingly I got the stripe to line up..it was a total coincidence and worked out beautifully.

A black, red and white fun pattern for an iPad 2.

They have made great gifts for all my technology loving family. This project is on my mind because I will be making one very soon as a birthday gift for someone’s iPad. I picked out the fabric last weekend on that fun JoAnn’s trip and will post it once I finish. In the future I want to make a version of this for a laptop. When I do that one, I will use a bit more padding though. I hope you enjoy, and perhaps try one out for yourself!

~Love and Stitches,

Krypton

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 2:53 pm

    Nice job!!

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas Crafting Summary « sewrational

Leave a Reply

